top of page
Search
  • markupminster

The Vine

Updated: Oct 15, 2020



SCRIPTURE: John 15:1-8.


REFLECTION:

About four years ago, I planted a vine in my garden. It is still alive! But the only grapes it has ever borne were bitter.


The imagery of the vine is used a number of times in the Bible - and not always positively. In the Old Testament, God describes the nation of Israel, his chosen people, as a vine. In Isaiah, in ch.5:1-7, God talks of his devotion to his people: What more could have been done for my vineyard than I have done for it? When I looked for good grapes, why did it yield only bad? Sure, they had borne fruit, but it was bad fruit. They had despised all God’s blessings and so judgement came on them.


The land of Israel is a place of contrasts. The coastal plain and the Golan Heights in the north are fertile areas, and grapes grow in abundance there. Vineyards would have been a familiar sight to people at the time of Jesus. So, in John 15 Jesus uses the vine to teach his disciples an important lesson.


v.8: This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.


We all bear fruit in life, in that we have an impact on everyone we meet, as well as our environment. The question is: Is it good fruit or bad fruit? Is it fruit which brings glory to God, as this verse says? And do people see from it that we are disciples of Jesus Christ? (John 15:8)


In John 17:4, Jesus said in prayer to his Father, I have brought you glory on earth by finishing the work you gave me to do. He bore fruit which glorified and honoured God by his life, his speech, his actions, and his death and resurrection, all of which was in total obedience to God his Father. And his instruction to us is, Let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. Matthew 5:16.


As Jesus’ disciples, our one desire should be to ‘imitate’ him, following his example. That is what a disciple does. In all we do, we don’t seek to draw attention to ourselves, but to God, obeying his will, and giving him the glory.


And the starting point in all of this for the believer must be to ‘remain’ in Christ. Six times in todays’ passage, Jesus says, Remain in me. It implies a closeness of relationship, an intimacy, as we rely on him for strength and guidance. We spend time reading God’s written Word (The Bible) through which God speaks to us, and where we find Jesus (God’s living Word) revealed to us. We spent time talking with him in prayer. Scripture and prayer - a two-way conversation.


And Jesus promises to remain in you (vv.4-5). What a precious thought! Jesus with you, every step of the way.


That’s got to be a good basis for fruitfulness…


PRAYER:

Our Father in Heaven,

hallowed be your name.

Your kingdom come,

your will be done on earth

as it is in heaven.

Your kingdom come,

your will be done in my heart,

my life, my town, my home,

my relationships, my work, as it is in heaven.

And to your glory may it be.

AMEN.


SONGS:

I will follow you - Chris Tomlin


FOOD FOR THOUGHT:

Is this the time to commit to a closer walk with God?



89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page