top of page
Search
  • markupminster

What about Today?


Scripture:

Hebrews 3:1-13


Reflection:

As Christians we often speak about the past. That’s only right, because our faith is

firmly rooted in history – God’s dealings with humanity over several millennia, the

coming of Jesus into our world, and his death and resurrection, 2,000 years ago.


We often speak about the future. And that’s right, too. The Christian’s hope is firmly

rooted in the belief that Jesus will return and set up his Kingdom on the renewed

earth. We long for that day, because righteousness and justice are the foundation of

His throne, and love and faithfulness will characterise His kingdom (Psalm 89:14).


My last reflection (‘We know now…’) looked back over this past year to see

what lessons we have learnt through this pandemic, which will influence our future.

Our conclusions will be different for each of us.


BUT WHAT ABOUT NOW?


It is all very well talking about what we have done, and what we are going to do, but

what are you doing NOW? What decisions are you making NOW which affect your

daily walk with God. I remember one elderly person saying to me that they had many

dreams of things they would like to do, but they had never acted on those dreams

and now they would never do them.


Hebrews 3 is a challenge to God’s people to remember their past and to be

influenced by it TODAY: Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts…

(7-8). God has spoken to us through His Word, the Bible. Are you listening to Him?

Most of all, He tells us of the salvation available to us through Jesus. Do not harden

your heart. Verse 13 says, …encourage one another daily, as long as it is called

‘Today’. Will your conversations today be encouraging for others?


There is an immediacy and vulnerability about our lives which calls for action. James 4:14 says, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. If you feel that there is something in your life which needs correcting, take action today. Is there something you can do for God and to bless others? Do it today. Is there a word you can say to draw a person closer to God? Say it today.


Living for God now, by the leading of the Holy Spirit, makes the decisions about what

is next much easier. The Lord gives wisdom; . . . He holds success in store for the

upright, . . . he guards the course of the just and protects the way of his faithful ones

(Proverbs 2:6–8).


May God supply what we need for us to live by His guidelines NOW.


And what of tomorrow? James again: …you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we

will live and do this or that’ (James 4:15).


Prayer:

Lord, may nothing separate me from You today. Teach me how to choose only Your

way today so that each step will lead me closer to You. Help me walk by Your Word

and not my feelings. Help me to keep my heart pure and undivided. Protect me from

my own careless thoughts, words, and actions. And keep me from being distracted

by MY wants, MY desires, MY thoughts on how things should be.


Help me to embrace what comes my way as an opportunity... rather than a personal

inconvenience.


Amen.


Songs:

Hope, be my anthem (Jesus I need you) - Hillsong


Food for Thought:

Ask God to open your eyes to opportunities to live for Him which He will bring your

way today.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page