top of page
Search
  • markupminster

The poor you always have with you


Scripture:

Matthew 26:6-13


Reflection:

This incident took place during the week we now call Holy Week – the days leading up to Good Friday. Jesus was nearing the end of his earthly life, but the disciples had still not understood the gravity of the situation. Though Jesus has told them several times that he was going to die (Luke 13:33; Matthew 16:21; 17:22; Mark 8:31), they had not taken it in.


So, when a lady comes and anoints the head of Jesus with expensive perfume, their first thought is: What a waste! ‘This perfume could have been sold at a high price and the money given to the poor.’ Their thoughts are still on others, not a bad thing in itself, but they were not treasuring the presence of Jesus with them. How often do we have to admit that we take people for granted, only to regret how little we appreciated them when they are gone?


Jesus’ words here are, of course, true. The poor are forever with us. Whether it is caused by injustice, powerlessness, disease or foolish behaviour, the human race seems unable to solve the problem of poverty.


Jesus encountered many people during his incarnation, but those he helped most were the poor in the society of his day – the sick, women, foreigners, etc., those who had little social standing and little power or influence.


So, what was Jesus saying here? Was he dismissing the poor as not worthy of consideration? No. Rather, he was challenging the motivation and priorities of the hearts of his listeners. His full words were, 'The poor you will always have with you, but you will not always have me.'


All around him would have been wealthy Jews who considered one the highest virtues to be the giving of alms to the poor. And we know from another incident in his life that this was often done ostentatiously and with little real cost to themselves (see Luke 21:1-4).


But were they worshipping God? Were they valuing his presence amongst them, represented to them in the Temple? Was their love for him the motivation for the good deeds they carried out. And I have to ask myself: Do I value the presence of Jesus with me, more than anything else? Do I put him first in all that I think, and say, and do?


Warren Wiersbe writes, ‘Nothing given to Jesus in love is ever wasted.’* So, we come to him in worship and praise first, and it is out of the love and gratitude in our hearts to him, for who he is and what he has done for us in salvation, that we gladly follow his example in serving others.


Prayer:

Lord God, as I come before you, I praise you with my innermost being. Father, I praise Your Holy name. I will not forget your benefits and I give you praise and thanksgiving because you have forgiven my sins. I praise you because you have redeemed my life from the pit and crowned me with compassion. Father, I praise you because you satisfy my desires with good things and you renew my youth like the eagles. Father, I praise you and honour you for you alone work righteousness for the oppressed, you are compassionate and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in love. I will follow your example. AMEN


Songs:


Food for Thought:

Why not resolve to read through one of the gospels this week? As you do so, notice the character of Jesus, and allow that to draw wonder and worship from your heart. And ask yourself: What is there in the example of Jesus here that I can learn and follow?


* Warren Wiersbe, The Bible Exposition Commentary, volume 1, p.95.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page